Brief History

The National Center for Theoretical Sciences was established  August  1997 by the National Science Council, NSF (NSF became Ministry of Science and Technology, MoST, since March 2014), with strong endorsement from some of the most eminent scholars, including Professors Chen Ning Yang and Shing-Tung Yau. It is hosted on the campus of the National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, with National Tsing Hua University and the adjacent National Chiao Tung University acted as co-host in the last 18 years. The Center consists of two divisions: Mathematics and Theoretical Physics. Previous directors of the Physics division were: Tung-Maw Yan, Ting-Kuo Lee, Darwin Chang, Tu-nan Chang, Hsian-Nan Li, Chung-Yu Mou, Ling-Fong Li and Xiao-Gang He.

In response to the need of the community, sub-projects at the National Taiwan University (NTU) and National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) were added to the operation during 2002-2014. This arrangement of the NCTS, together with the implementation of the Focus Group Program has greatly broadened and strengthened the interaction and collaboration among domestic scientists, which were the medium term goals set up for that period of time. 

In 2013, an international review on NCTS was conducted and it was concluded to be of high importance for NCTS to play a more prominent international role.  A restructuring of the Center, including the  abolishment of sub-projects together with a significant increase in funding was recommended, with the goal to promote the NCTS to become an international leading research center. It was also decided that the Physics and Mathematics Division do not need to be hosted by the same University. As a result, a national call competition was made in the beginning of 2014. With hearty committment, the National Tsing Hua University won the bid to operate the Physics Division of the NCTS. The Mathematics division is hosted by the National Taiwan University. The two divisions operate seprately to serve their separate communities and cooperate on some of their national programs. 

cron web_use_log